Once again, from the spectacular archives of Lowell Observatory – with thanks to Antoinette Beiser.

*

Harbert, Michigan
April 6 1930

My dear Professor Gills, and others of the New Planet,

I am not a name prize winner but no one love stars and planets more than I.  I often think I fell from one, by accident, as I have never really felt at home on this.  I am always hoping some one will receive a message from “Mars.”  I hope to go there when I die.  But this new Planet better and I do hope you will call it “Shu,” God of the Atmosphere”, for surely this is god over all the world in air, as recently found by Mr. Howard Canter, in the Annex of the Tutankhamen Tomb.

What could be a more fitting name for this great world uplifting womankind, to do our great [illegible], as [illegible] on these strange worlds – may they not be made warm and pleasant by some internal heating rays of which we have no even discovered.

Josephine L. Tabour.

*

Rowley, Alberta
April 2, 1929.
Dear Sirs,

I have seen in the papers where a new planet has been discovered, and much excitement going on to what its name should be.  I suggest Minerva or Apollo as it took much wisdom to find it and patience, but if Minerva is to turned down name it Appollo as he was good at most everything.

Yours truly
Jesse Lamb.

*

93 Cliff Ave
Winthrop Highlands, Mass
March 30th 1930

Lowell Observatory
Flagstaff Arizona

Dear Sirs.,

I enjoyed reading about the New Planate in the Literary Digest. I thought of a few names so here they are.
Rima She’s at the Rim
Ja-nus God of the New Year 1930
Raido.  That most wonderful and misterius thing
Eagle- In honor of our American Eagle.
and our brave human Eagles of the air.

Truly Yours
Florence Hackett.

